Location : Home > News
Date: 12-06-2017

he Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol will enter into force on 1 January 2019 after the threshold for the agreement to enter into force was met on 17 November 2017, when it was ratified by 20 parties.

Montreal Protocol parties continue to ratify the Amendment, which has so far been ratified by 23 parties. The parties, listed alphabetically, are: Australia, Canada, Chile, Comoros, C?te d'Ivoire, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Finland, Germany, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Luxembourg, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Norway, Palau, Rwanda, Slovakia, Sweden, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

The Amendment was adopted by the 28th Meeting of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol on 15 October 2016 in Kigali, Rwanda. Under the Amendment, all countries will gradually phase down HFCs by more than 80 per cent over the next 30 years and replace them with more planet-friendly alternatives.

Developed countries will start reducing HFCs as early as 2019, while developing countries will start later. Phasing down HFCs under the Protocol is expected to avoid up to 0.5°C of global warming by the end of the century, while continuing to protect the ozone layer.

Foreign Economic Cooperation Office, Ministry of Environmental Protection of China
5 Houyingfang Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing, P.R. China, Postal Code: 100035, Tel: +86-10-82268810, Fax: +86-10-82200510